

MIDLANDS 4 WHEEL DRIVE CLUB ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES 11 March 2022, 18h30



1. WELCOME

The Chairman welcomed all members to the meeting.

2. ATTENDANCE & APOLOGIES

Committee and Club Members Present (some were accompanied by spouses): Richard Heathcote (Chairman) Billy Paton (Vice Chairman) Regi Binns (Treasurer) Ronnie Drew (Committee Member) Stanley Marx (Committee Member)(only arrived after conclusion of AGM) William Seymour (Committee Member) Gary Buitendach (Secretary) Rob Geddes (Committee Member) Steve Swanepoel Jimmy Day **Gary Peacock** Frank Stahlut Morgan Wragg Jenny Kruger Patrick Dillon Leon Jooste

Apologies:

John Buyers Otto Kruger Malcolm Brown Rodney Trenam Marcus Henning Caroline Richards Dave Varrie Murray Cowell Tim Wood Grant Stevenson Willem von Willich Jeanne Schutte Terry Tedder

3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Proposed: Jenny Kruger Seconded: Ronnie Drew

4. CONFIRMATION OF PREVIOUS AGM MEETING MINUTES – 26TH March 2021

The minutes of the previous AGM were confirmed Proposed: Jimmy Day Seconded: Gary Peacock

5. MATTERS ARISING FROM PREVIOUS MINUTES

Nil

6. FINANCIAL REPORT

The Treasurer presented the 2021/22 Financial report (attached to minutes)

- It was noted that there were currently 57 paid up members and 4 honorary life members.
- Current balance R146 829
- It was noted that an amount of R59 850 had been set aside as a provision for new club house facilities, noting that the Show Grounds had been sold, and the future of the current club house was unknown.
- The Chairman pointed out that the healthy state of the club finances was due to a large extent by funds bought in by the club's prior involvement with the Comrades Marathon.

7. CHAIRMAN'S REPORT (Combined with Outings Report)

The Chairman presented his report for the 2021/22 year – attached

- On the issue of bookings for trips, it was agreed that the incoming Committee needed to devise a fair system which would give all members an equal opportunity of attending trips where the number of participants was limited, and to prevent members from booking for trips, only to withdraw at the last moment, depriving other members who otherwise would have gone.

8. ELECTION OF COMMITTEE

- The following nominations were received for positions where the current incumbent's term of office had expired, or the incumbent had stood down:
 - o Chairman Otto Kruger
 - Vice-Chairman Stanley Marx
 - Events Co-ordinator Billy Paton
 - o Ordinary member William Seymour
 - Ordinary Member Marcus Henning
 - o Ordinary Member Ronnie Drew
 - Ordinary member Rob Geddes

There were no opposing nominations, and the above were duly elected.

- The 2022 Committee is therefore as follows:

Position	Name
Chairman	Otto Kruger
Vice-Chairman	Stanley Marx
Secretary	Gary Buitendach
Treasurer	Regi Binns
Events Coordinator	Billy Paton
Ordinary member	Ronnie Drew
Ordinary member	William Seymour
Ordinary member	Rob Geddes
Ordinary member	Marcus Henning

10. OTHER MATTERS

- There were no other matters raised

11. CLOSE

- The Chairman welcomed the incoming Committee and thanked the outgoing Committee for their hard work and diligence during another very challenging year.
- The meeting closed at 19:01

GMB 25/3/2022